Walk along the lagoon, walkways, and columns of the Palace of Fine Arts in San Francisco’s Marina district. The palace was originally constructed in 1915 for the Panama-Pacific Exhibition as a temporary art gallery, slated for demolition at the end of the fair. It was saved from destruction by the people of San Francisco who thought it was simply too beautiful to be torn down. Designed by architect Bernard R. Maybeck, a student of École des Beaux-Arts, the palace was inspired by Roman ruins to evoke sadness and solemnity. Wander through the sweeping colonnade, grand rotunda, manicured landscape, and serene pond to experience the beauty of this grand event space that has graced the city by the bay for over 100 years.