Skip to main content

A new way of sharing your spaces

Learn about the key changes to how digital twins can be shared in your Matterport cloud account

With increased options in our capture line up including Matterport for iPhone and iPad, creating a Matterport 3D digital twin has never been easier and more accessible. And customers took notice, demand for virtual tours are at an all time high.  Creating a high resolution immersive 3D digital twin of a space from real estate to hotels to factories, offices, hospitals, retail, restaurants, points of interest is a great step in accelerating productivity, decision-making, and cost-savings.   

Sharing your digital twin 

Sharing is the next essential step to fully unlock the potential of digital twins. From boosting revenue with increased visibility for commercial real estate to efficient stakeholder collaboration on a large construction project, sharing a space means increased collaboration and productivity, as well as expanding your customer engagement and reach.

Space Image Share

Matterport offers many options to share and publish a 3D space such as:

  • Share on social media
  • Email to anyone using a simple link
  • Embed your 3D digital twin in your website
  • Post to MLS
  • Publish to Google Street View, VRBO, and Realtor.com

Next phase in sharing

We are always on the lookout to improve customer experiences. Our goal is to make the sharing and collaboration experience require no instruction while evolving the feature capabilities. This is why we’re excited to make sharing faster and introduce the ability to protect a space with a password. 

Starting July 30th, you will see two key changes to how digital twins can be shared in your Matterport cloud account. Here are the details:

Simplified sharing experience

With a more user friendly menu and simplified options, sharing your digital twins is now easier and faster than ever.

Sharing a link

 

Password protected sharing:

Ever wanted to share your space with specific people and not add them as collaborators? For things like, sharing with your banker, your designer, your contractor...well now you can with password protected sharing. 

We are introducing a new sharing feature and one that our customers have been asking for a while.  We heard you!  With the “Viewable to anyone with the link and password” option, you will be able to protect a sharable space with a password.

LInk with password

 

This new feature provides you with the peace of mind in sharing spaces where privacy is critical, because only those who are provided with the password will be able to view the space. In other words, you can share a space without exposing it to anyone with a link, but rather to individuals or groups with the password you set. 

We hope you will enjoy these improvements, and can’t wait to hear your feedback. The new sharing options will be rolled out to all customers starting July 30th Visit our help center for more details. 

 

FAQ

Q: Where can I find the VR Sharing and Social Sharing items that used to be on the sharing menu?

A: The Enable VR Sharing and Allow Social Sharing options can now be found in the details tab of your space listing in your cloud account. Click here for more information.

Q: Can I turn off link sharing?

A: Yes anytime, by choosing “link sharing is off ” from the drop down menu.

Q: How will I communicate password with the recipient of the space?

A: You are responsible for managing passwords and educating users with the password on how to securely manage/use them. 

Q: What happens if I use a password protected link to post on social media?

A: Upon clicking, the viewer will get to a screen with password protection being asked.

Q: Can recipients of a password protected space make any edits to the space after entering their password?

A: No, they can only view the space.

Q: When should I add a password to a space AND when should I add a collaborator?

A: Adding a collaborator allows a user to edit the space whereas giving a password to a user only allows them to view a space. Adding a user as a collaborator will count towards your subscription plan’s user limit whereas a password can be given to as many people/groups as you like.

Categories

Product Announcements
New & Noteworthy